1(904)362-3629 [email protected]

12 Foods You Always Thought Were Vegan—But Aren’t

foods that are not vegan


“Vegan friendly” isn’t just a label that some wine companies slap on their bottles to appeal to animal lovers—most vino is actually hiding some sneaky animal products. Wine tends to look murky unless it’s had a lot of time for the sediment to settle, so winemakers speed up the process by adding ingredients called “fining agents” to make reds and whites as clear as the crystal they’re poured in. Companies usually use egg whites, milk proteins, gelatin, or substances called isinglass, derived from fish swim bladders, according to Wine Enthusiast. Vegan winemakers either skip the fining agents altogether or substitute bentonite clay for the animal products.

The post 12 Foods You Always Thought Were Vegan—But Aren’t appeared first on Best Health Magazine Canada.

Site Link